“Watch this” Wednesday: Kelly Clarkson slays No Doubt classic

Okay, so I know it’s really lame to ignore the blog for a month and then come back with a post that has nothing to do with writing. But you won’t be able to stay mad at me if you watch this video all the way to the end.

Watch Idol-winner Kelly Clarkson totally slay No Doubt’s classic breakup anthem “Don’t Speak”. She starts off kind of slow and, amazing as she is, I wasn’t sure she could outdo Gwen on this one, but holy cow she nails it in the last minute. Girl can sing her ass off!

Kelly is doing fan requests sent via Twitter on all the stops on her current tour. Watch some of her other covers here. And if that’s not enough for you, watch my other favorite Kelly cover of Patty Griffin’s “Up to the Mountain” (accompanied by Jeff Beck):

PS: I was listening to this while working on a revision of my NaNo novel–so it’ s kinda writing related.

