Gearing up for NaNoWriMo

I registered for NaNoWriMo today! So I was happy to see one of my favorite bloggers Alexandra Sokoloff  has kicked off her NaNoWriMo Prep series early this year. Last year’s series was great, and I can’t wait to see what tips she’ll have this time ‘round.

Ms. Sokoloff strongly advocates spending at least a few minutes each day in the weeks leading up to NaNo to really think about your characters, the key points in your novel, and where it’s going. (Don’t worry that you’re breaking the rules. NaNo’s FAQ’s encourage prep work.)

Along with watching for Alex’s tips, I’m also working through NAIL YOUR NOVEL by bestselling writer Roz Morris, who runs a blog by the same name. I’m loving this book! It’s aimed at procrastinators and non-finishers like me. Morris has a fresh way of presenting tried-and-true advice that makes you want to hit the keyboard. I’ll blog more about my process working through this book because I’m really excited about it.

My goal is to finish my “underwear synopsis” of my NaNo novel (a post-apocalyptic romantic adventure–no zombies!) by the end of this week so I can let it stew for a month, per Morris’s recommendation. The week before NaNo, I’ll read it with fresh eyes and hopefully identify any major issues with the structure before opening my Chapter One doc on November 1.

Flying by the seat of your pants might be part of what NaNoWriMo’s all about, but for me that doesn’t mean flying blind. When I don’t have my bearings the doubts creep in, along with frustration and false starts.

Have you signed up yet? What’s your flight plan?

One Comment on “Gearing up for NaNoWriMo”

  1. To my ‘underwear synopsis’ you add ‘seat of the pants’. Something’s going right for sure. Thanks for the mention and good luck with NaNoWriMo!